Quick upgrade of Chinese power strip, now with backlight voltmeter

I bought this cheap Chinese power strip on eBay a few years ago, when I was starting with hifi. Pretty nice looking cheap strip. Of course I this days, I wouldn’t buy this meaningless piece of engineering again.
Power strip with backlight voltmeter

Quality of main power IEC connector and soldering was really poor. It needed to be changed for something better… way better.
Power strip with backlight voltmeter

So Neutrik powerCon come to place.
Power strip with backlight voltmeter

Looks really good
Power strip with backlight voltmeter

Actually it looks awesome with DIY shielded power cable. 3×2.5mm2
Power strip with backlight voltmeter

I was looking at few pictures and seen backlit voltmeter on Internet. Nice idea I thought.
Power strip with backlight voltmeter

So as usual I take it apart. Coil was removed from bakelite case. Two holes for wires drilled through and space for two nixie tubes with resistors created. I think it was easier solution, than using LED’s. Also their dim orange light looks quite cool “audiophile” grade🙂
Power strip with backlight voltmeter

Looks neat and it’s alive!
Power strip with backlight voltmeter

Little bit of hot glue gun and heat-shrink and job is done.
Power strip with backlight voltmeter

Extra switch installed. I know, this power strip looks weird, but what would you expect from china.
Power strip with backlight voltmeter

Back in case and look great
Power strip with backlight voltmeter

I was little bit afraid if the light will be even, but it happened to diffuse well, so no foil or trick are needed. I got myself “audiophile” grade power strip with this easy upgrade🙂
Power strip with backlight voltmeter
 
Subscribe Audiophile Vintage on YouTube

One thought on “Quick upgrade of Chinese power strip, now with backlight voltmeter

  1. I got this site from my buddy who informed me about this web site and at the moment this time I am
    visiting this web site and reading very informative articles or reviews at this place.

Comments are closed.