DIY Battery power supply (PSU) for hiFace Evo – part 3

In part 1 I’ve bought hiFace Evo, and done thorough research; purchased all needed parts; also test schematic. In Part 2 I’ve done metal work and painting, this time I’ll do electronic part and completing

1.
Polarity might be protected by diode, but I think it is not necessary, because charger has it already. I think this is not a big deal, since this is not commercial product. I use free program ExpressPCB to design PCB’s on various projects. Company then make you your own PCB by your design.
DIY Battery power supply (PSU) for hiFace Evo

2.
Prototyping PCB used instead of point to point wiring, since I wanted to make it look more neat and professional. Well… look further how I messed it up🙂 Breadboard PCB with battery connector and outputs for switches, LEDs and connectors.
DIY Battery power supply (PSU) for hiFace Evo

3.
Now all connectors and switches in place. Battery is attached by hot glue gun. It will be still detachable with a little bit of good old violence, but I doubt it’s necessary because battery life exceed moral life of hiface converter many times. (I can always use it for another project)
DIY Battery power supply (PSU) for hiFace Evo

4.
Switches and mini-XLRs installed. Pin 2 and 3 used for DC.
DIY Battery power supply (PSU) for hiFace Evo

5.
I know, I know, looks like rat’s nest🙂 But to my defense I have to say, that this is prototype. Would be pretty neat to have shorter wires. A bit excessive use of hot glue as well. Oh well… I like to have things bullet-proof.
DIY Battery power supply (PSU) for hiFace Evo
 
Subscribe Audiophile Vintage on YouTube
6.
Top side with engraved badge. Looks pretty fancy heh? Pretty heavy as well.
DIY Battery power supply (PSU) for hiFace Evo

7.
PSU ON.
Front side. On top: Charge / operation switch, ON/OFF switch.
Bottom row: Charge / operation LED’s and two parallel power outputs. Two outputs are essential, just in case another device might come in the future.
DIY Battery power supply (PSU) for hiFace Evo

8.
PSU charging
DIY Battery power supply (PSU) for hiFace Evo

9.
PSU OFF
DIY Battery power supply (PSU) for hiFace Evo

10.
Rear side, just one mini-XLR connecto for charging.
DIY Battery power supply (PSU) for hiFace Evo

11.
And this is final piece, sorry for a bit blurry pictures.
DIY Battery power supply (PSU) for hiFace Evo

12.
From another angle. Shiny black looks very nice with golden badge.
DIY Battery power supply (PSU) for hiFace Evo

13.
With custom made cable and mini-XLR connector. They are very high quality from Neutrik.
DIY Battery power supply (PSU) for hiFace Evo

14.
In operation with Hiface side by side. It is a bit bigger, but it doesn’t matter. Converter is behind DAC and Battery supply is on my top shelf. Works pretty well for me.
DIY Battery power supply (PSU) for hiFace Evo

15.
And converter on the top of PSU, so you can compare dimensions.
DIY Battery power supply (PSU) for hiFace Evo

Sound wise:

Was there really improvement compare to wall wart adapter?
Yes it was! Thanks to sleep button on my computer I’m able to switch supplies fairly quickly and compare sounds.
I would say, that first and only thing I have noticed, that there’s less sharpness = more “tuby” / pleasant analogue sound. It is more evident with hires material. Otherwise sound-stage, bass speed or anything else stayed same. It is DIGITAL, so don’t expect voodoo miracles.

Would I recommend it?
Hell yeah, for few quid you get yourself better sound, which is more noticeable than new pair of $2000 interconnect. Employing trained monkey I was able to switch PSU’s quickly and after 2-3 switches I get used to sound and was able to determine which is which by blind test.

I have to say, that this is very easy fun project for beginners who like to start with DIY. Could be pretty cheap if want to.
I’m able to build you one for cost of materials, if you are interested.

Don’t forget to check out part 1 and 2 if you want to know more.
 
Subscribe Audiophile Vintage on YouTube

4 thoughts on “DIY Battery power supply (PSU) for hiFace Evo – part 3

    • Indeed, it is!!! How do you know, you must be pure audiophile! After installation I was instantly enveloped in a sound that echoed the creation of all matter, a sound that vibrated every cell in my body to perfection. I was instantly taken to the next plane, where I saw the all-father. I knew with my entire soul, that all was good in the world. I’m thinking to start selling audiophool graded wooden doorsteps🙂

Leave a Reply

