Pioneer HPM-100 loudspeakers restoration

Subscribe Audiophile Vintage on YouTube
IMG_20140520_120249

IMG_20140520_120302

Please watch a video to know more:

Restoration of vintage loudspeakers Pioneer HPM-100 designed by Bart Locanthi and his team. These are 100W version. Speakers were carefully restored and upgraded. My main goal was to keep them as original as they could be. I bet they could sound even better with the mod and crossover upgrade, but it wasn’t what I was aiming for. This is my third speaker restoration. Now I have to make some defend stands for them. Something like kenrick sound stands.

– high gloss finish
– resprayed front and rear
– new midrange driver
– dust cups repaired, drivers cleaned
– deox thru
– some new internal wiring
– crossover restoration with 2% hifi caps and resistor
– new speaker binding posts
– added damping
– frames of speaker grills repaired
– high quality custom speaker cable

My local furniture guy did sanding and high gloss polish for me as it is quite struggle without tools. £90 well spent. I did black front and rear brown. Otherwise you get similar finish with yacht varnish if you are happy to do sanding and have skills to do that yourself. I used it with my previous project and actually yacht varnish is even better than this one (harder), but I thought to safe myself nerves and time.
 
Subscribe Audiophile Vintage on YouTube

Download:

>>>>>> Pioneer HPM 100 Operating guide / Owners, user manual (10 MB)
>>>>>> Pioneer HPM-100 Service manual
>>>>>> HPM 100 Brochure 
 
I’ve made vintage looking speaker cables for them as well
custom made vintage looking speaker cable

I used to be in high end HiFi so I can compare. Honestly they are really nice vintage speakers but not so HiFi speakers in today terms. They have lovely velvety sound but lacking soundstage and resolution of today speakers. Obviously hard to compare with five figure speakers.
I love my Pioneer gear anyway and went this vintage path rather than critically waiting for every little nuances like these do called audiophiles do.
I really do enjoy music and I do it for joy of music and don’t need to spend tens of thousands to have some good fun.
This restoration was well worth it, now they sound so much better, really fantastic for vintage loudspeakers.

Restoration Pictures:

Pioneer HPM-100 before restoration

Pioneer HPM-100 before restoration

Pioneer HPM-100 crossover

Pioneer HPM-100 crossover

Pioneer HPM-100 crossover capacitors

Pioneer HPM-100 crossover after recap

Pioneer HPM-100 crossover after recap

Pioneer HPM-100 restoration

Pioneer HPM-100 restoration

Pioneer HPM-100 restoration

Pioneer HPM-100 restoration

Pioneer HPM-100 restoration

Pioneer HPM-100 restoration

Pioneer HPM-100 restoration

Pioneer HPM-100 restoration

 
Subscribe Audiophile Vintage on YouTube

9 thoughts on “Pioneer HPM-100 loudspeakers restoration

  1. Hi Martin,

    Great job with the restoration of the speakers, it really inspired me for future projects.

    I also own a pair of these excellent speakers, though, a while back one of them fell flat on the floor. The result was a broken super tweeter, pressed knobs(attenuator) and a non-working tweeter. I looked at the service manual and it seems that the pressed attenuator could be the reason why the tweeter doesn’t get any signals while the mid range gets them.

    Since you’ve been inside these speakers, do you possibly have any tips for me before I start investigating the problem.

    Please feel free to contact me over email.

    Best regards

  2. Hi Martin,
    I recently got a pair of these speakers. I need to do some restoration work. I don’t know whether my super tweeters work, when listening I was not 100% sure. Now I measured the resistance of both of them with multimeter and I got eternity. Does that mean that they are dead, or is their resistance just beyond the scope of my multimeter?

    • One easy way to tell if they’re working, is to plug your speakers into your system and turn up the volume (WITHOUT PLAYING MUSIC). If you hear a “hissing” sound coming from them then chances are they will work. On the flip side, if you’re playing music and you would like to know which drivers are working, place your ear in front of the tweeter. No testing is needed unless these options don’t work.

  3. Thank you for the excellent post.

    I’m wondering, how I can clean the stains on the woofers. They are not too dark, the common kind of stains that grow on this kind of woofers in time.

    Thank you in advance.

    • I cleaned mine with distilled water, but please take this advice with caution. Maybe ask in museum or google up how to clean paper.its paper pulp with carbon fibres I think.

      • Thank you for the prompt response. I searched everywhere but after your reply I understand that there is no easy way. Considering my level of expertise, I think I should better leave them as they are. If I visit UK in the future again, maybe I can make an appointment and bring them to you🙂

  4. Great job of restoring, could it be possible to provide a list and source of material used, mainly wiring resisters, etc. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

